The Day when I contracted COVID19

I always thought that if I observe all necessary preventive measures and practise good personal hygenie habits, I will be safe from being infected with covid19 virus. Oh gawd, I was wrong! It happens when you least expect it!

It started when my Dad contracted it when he went out to meet friends for breakfast at a coffeeshop near home on Tuesday 22 March 2022. Barely 10 minutes when I stepped into office for work, Mum whatsapped me to inform me that my father has gotten the virus, and advised me to do an ART test immediately to check if I am tested positive. I was stunned. I requested for an ART kit from a colleague and went to the pantry alone to do the test. It was a negative result.

Being a close contact, I knew on the spot that I was at a real risk of contracting covid19 virus. According to the guidelines by Singapore Ministry of Health (MOH), this meant that I must monitor my well-being and do daily ART for the next 5 days before I step out of the house for work or running errands. If the test result is negative, I could go outdoors. Otherwise I have to report my case to my superior immediately.

My dad had went to see a doctor, hence his case was reported to MOH. To care for my father, Mum inevitably contracted the virus on Wednesday 23 March 2022. She did not see doctor. She knew it when she did an ART test that morning.

On Friday 25 March 2022, I got it. Sigh.

I made a report to my superior via whatsapp. I was supposed to see a doctor and obtain a 5-day medical certificate leave, and more importantly, I am to stay indoors, do self-isolation in my own bedroom for the first 72 hours (3 days).

I had high fever close to 40 degree celsius. Surprisingly I can still make my way to a nearby GP clinic on my own to see a doctor (with wearing a mask of course). I did another ART on the spot. Was asked some questions by the doctor on duty. She answered some questions I had, and advised me on what I should do. I was prescribed some fever and cough medicine, and I went home immediately.

According to the then guidelines by Ministry of Health, a covid19-positive person in Singapore should do self-isolation in a bedroom with toilet for first 72 hours (3 days), and he/she is to do ART the next day on Day 4. If negative, he or she is considered recovered, and hence need not self-isolate anymore. On the other hand if the person is still covid19-positive, he/she is to continue self-isolation until Day 7. On day 7 after 12noon, he or she is to do one more ART. Regardless a positive or negative result, he or she is considered “discharged” because the infectious period (first 3 days) is already over.

I live in a jumbo flat hence there are enough rooms for my parents and I to do self-isolation at home.

How did we cope with recovering from covid19 at home?

Separation of utensils

We use our own cutlery for meals. This means I take and clean my own fork/spoon/plate and take them with me into my bedroom instead of sharing them with my family members.

When done with cooking meals, Mum would retreat into her bedroom and inform us via whatsapp that food is ready for consumption. I will then get out of my bedroom, go to the dining table, take my food with my utensils, and go back to my bedroom to eat. When done with eating, I will go to the kitchen, wash my dishes, dry my utensils and take them back with me into my bedroom.

Individually, we kept our medicine and a thermo flask of warm water beside our beds. We made sure we kept ourselves hydrated throughout the day.

1-metre safe distancing

Everyone at home observed this rule. We wore masks even if we need to talk face-to-face at home.

Observing personal hygenie

We made sure we shower daily and threw worn clothes into the laundry basket in kitchen. My mother would still do the laundry via the washing machine everyday.

A bottle of hand sanitiser was placed on placed on the dining table. Whoever comes to the dining table is to clean up and disinfect the table after use. This is because our fingers or hands may inevitably touch the dining table surfaces during mealtime.

Communication and entertainment during self-isolation

For time being, we were unable to watch TV in the living room. We retreated into our own rooms for rest. Hence we relied on our smartphones for own entertainment and online reading. This is because we are not allowed to go outdoors to purchase any hard-copy newspapers during those 72 hours.

We relied on whatsapp to send text or audio messages, or to call one another. I made sure the home wifi router is switched on daily for my parents to go online anytime at home.

It took 3 days for my dad to recover from covid19 virus, 5 days for my mum and 12 days for me to recover from it! =P

I went back to work at Day 8.

The pandemic is not over yet. Although recovered, I know there is still a possibility for me to be re-infected with covid19 virus. Much covid19 restrictions are eased in Singapore but I am still wearing my mask wherever I go. I stay away from large crowds. If the time comes for me to take a 2nd booster shot, I will go take it.

Take care. Stay healthy, vigilant and safe, everyone!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑