Feeling nostalgic – the CentrePoint

Starbucks Orchard

Enough of work on weekdays.

On weekends, I find time to work on myself, in addition to looking after my parents and doing community service.

It has been quite a while since the last time I stepped into a Starbucks cafe. Entering October, it seems to me that the year-end cold rainy season could be coming soon.

Yes, it also has been quite a while since the last time I did a blog entry.

For no particular reason, I just felt a sudden urge to visit Somerset area, particularly Centrepoint several weeks ago (in early September), on a Saturday. Apart from work, I seldom go to downtown areas. Usually at home or HDB neighbourhood areas.

I had fond memories of this place when I did my first school holiday job at its former anchor tenant, Robinsons Group (1983 – 2014) while waiting for my GCE O Level exam results in the late 90s. I did job stint at babyware department and men’s casual wear department. Thanks to Robinsons, it had equipped me on the essentials of delivering quality customer service. In fact during the course of my current job today, I can tap on this experience.

After 5 years of tenancy, Metro has announced that it will exit Centrepoint this year. They are now doing a 90% clearance sale. By the way, Times Bookstore and Tianpo Jewellery are also moving out of Centrepoint. They are also doing their own clearance sale.

Centrepoint1

Centrepoint2

Centrepoint3

Look at the crowd. Singaporeans love big clearance sales! At first glance, I thought: What is so special that attracts these people to queue?

Seeing this reminded me of those days when I experienced working through the annual Robinsons Sale period during the Christmas festive season. Same scenario!

Centrepoint5

Centrepoint4

I missed those days working with the sales promoters, many of whom were waiting for GCE ‘O’ and ‘A’ Level examination results.

I earned quite alot then because our departments hit sales targets.

Our department supervisors were very friendly and easygoing.

In case if you aren’t aware, many Robinsons employees are awarded Excellence Service Star pins.

For we the young ones, we used to complain – “So many people here at Robinson Sale, so stuffy…having aircon but it feels like no aircon at all! Lousy aircon ventilation..made us feel very hot!” 😂😄

During the course of Robinsons Sale, many of us were fed up with customers “destroying our efforts” when we tried to fold the clothes tidy in the display bins. Customers were searching for their ideal attire size.

When tea time comes, one or two would come rallying a few of us up, saying: “Hey guys, no point standing here to tidy up the clothes lah. Let’s sneak to pantry for tea-break then we come back again 20 minutes later ya?” “Ok, let’s do that! Let’s go!!!” Hahaha.

I wondered: how is everybody now? 🙂

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑