Singapore Armed Forces Day (SAF) 2016

Leave a comment

July 2, 2016 by alansoh79

12622550_10153452125266298_3654015474491455746_o

Parade Square @ Amoy Quee Camp, 2SIR

Looking back, it was only during my 2-year National Service period that I did not take any photos at all. Year 2000. That was about 15 years ago. All I had was my SAF 11B ID photo which I still kept today.

My most memorable period of NS was during the 1st two months at Amoy Quee Camp, 2nd Battalion Singapore Infantry Regiment (SIR). Physical trainings and marching drills. Among hundreds of recruits, little did I expect to be chosen to be my Regimental Sergeant Major (RSM)’s personal assistant. He was a stern teacher yet a fatherly figure. Although I am no officer cadet, he still taught me to think and behave like one. Integrity and self-discipline. RSM quite doted on me wheras his subordinates – the CSM (Company Sergeant Major)/S1 and S4 sergeants loved to come “disturb” me time to time. 

I used to slouch my back. It was my company platoon commander who trained me to develop and maintain a good habit of walking and sitting up-straight. He said, “You are now RSM’s PA. You ought to walk like one. Walk like a positive young man. More importantly, you will not suffer from any posture issues when you grow old one day.” Yet he was also the one who always tricked me into doing more chin-ups when doing IPPTs. My lousiest station. :p

As for my platoon sergeant, he was the first sergeant who reached out for my friendship during 1st or 2nd day of my NSF life. He made the first move. I didn’t want to talk to anyone at that time, so I wondered “Among all people, why does this sergeant come to me? I am only a NSF recruit. He likes me?”

He thawed that little iciness in me, made me understood what brotherhood is about. We are of about the same age. He offered to help whenever I encountered any problems. He liked to slow down, running alongside with me when doing 2.4km morning runs. Liked to chill out with me after last parade and routine order. Ate together during mealtimes at the cookhouse. We may sometimes even exit the camp together when we booked out on Saturdays. We became quite close eventually. Although I was later transferred to Sembawang Air Base (SBAB), I went back to 2SIR once to look for him about a year later, to see if he is still there. I couldn’t find him, thought he wasn’t around in the camp, hence I left my contact number with HQ S1 office. Yes, he was around – that was when he called me on my mobile phone when I was just out of the camp gate, telling me to u-turn back to go find him at the HQ Officer Mess. I ran back.

My platoon sergeant taught me to reach out, extending friendship to others first, which I do today. I followed doing what he has done. 🙂

Thank you Sir. My hearing impairment has had not in a way or another, stop you people from believing in me, giving me selfless guidance.

How have you guys been? I also missed my then Platoon 4 mates at Bravo Coy.

Every July 1st, it is Singapore Armed Forces Day. Happy belated SAF Day.

We are young lions, second to none! 🙂

Extra reading note: Here was what I wrote previously -> Singapore Armed Forces Day 2014

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 23,770 hits

I am on Instagram!

I end my run here. 今晚我跑了6公里左右。#sgrun #sghealthy #mondaynight #may2017 #singaporean #sweat #lgclass #maintainyouth #chongpang #latenightjogging 上个星期六,我们五个人的"饮水"时间。#saturday #rafflescitysg #singapore #coffee #tea #toastboxsg Joined hands with 4 other volunteers to bring this group of 80+ NSE residents out for a walk at Gardens By The Bay yesterday (20 May). They also visited the Flower Dome. #yishun #neesooneast #may2017 #saturday #sg #gardensbythebay #singapore #lgclass We enjoyed being here tonight (20 May). #singapore #saturdaynight #lgclass #sg #may2017 #nationalgallerysingapore #welfie Dr Lily Neo: Come @clarenceeeee, sing with me! #lgclass #cityhall #singapore #saturdaynight #singaporean #nationalgallerysingapore "我。。。我要。。我要你。。我要你的。。我要你的爱。。你为什么不说出来?" Edward Ong Yu Xiang was so on, he sang a chinese oldie song with this female singer. Power. #cityhall #sg #singaporean #lgclass #nationalgallerysingapore #saturdaynight #singapore

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

