On NDP Stage..

Leave a comment

August 12, 2014 by alansoh79

For TV viewers who watched National Day Parade 2014 “LIVE” on television last Saturday evening, you might have thought that the weather was fine.

Of course it was all probably due to the bright stage lights.
Guess what?

Just like National Education Show 2 (19 July), I observed that there were dark looming clouds hovering the spectator stands while standing on stage during the parade segment of NDP Show. Raining soon? Feeling worried that there would be a downpour, so I removed my cochlear implant device discreetly sometime during the part where “We Are Singapore” song was sung. Wearing only just one device. I did prepare a small sealable bag in my attire pocket in case of wet weather.

Before the commencement of the marchpast, my MINDEF trainer Philip Yeo reassured me at backstage “Trust me Alan, it won’t rain..”
Indeed, it didn’t rain at all. Phew.

Some of us including myself were standing at the back rows, in which the giant LED stage screen was right behind us. Despite standing at back rows, we were attentive because we were alerted early by our trainers that the MediaCorp TV cameras may zoom in at us at anytime, not forgetting those mobile TV crew personnel who were walking around on stage.

Everything was smooth during the marchpast. With full concentration.
No hiccups. All 36 of us did an awesome job.

After the marchpast, I heard from PAYM officials that some audience sitting at spectator stands did experience a little tiny drizzle. I wonder: did the NDP organisers did cloud seeding prior to the parade show?

It is certain that I do hear parade commanders’ commands LOUD AND CLEAR with my hearing devices. The music cues from the military band do help me in anticipating what is coming up next. So used to listen to them for 5 months. lol.

So what’s next? I am now looking forward to watching the repeat telecast of National Day Parade 2014, which is to be shown on television in HD this coming Sunday afternoon (17 August). And our 4th and final appreciation dinner coming up soon!

Some of us are already experiencing post-NDP blues…awwww.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 23,770 hits

I am on Instagram!

I end my run here. 今晚我跑了6公里左右。#sgrun #sghealthy #mondaynight #may2017 #singaporean #sweat #lgclass #maintainyouth #chongpang #latenightjogging 上个星期六,我们五个人的"饮水"时间。#saturday #rafflescitysg #singapore #coffee #tea #toastboxsg Joined hands with 4 other volunteers to bring this group of 80+ NSE residents out for a walk at Gardens By The Bay yesterday (20 May). They also visited the Flower Dome. #yishun #neesooneast #may2017 #saturday #sg #gardensbythebay #singapore #lgclass We enjoyed being here tonight (20 May). #singapore #saturdaynight #lgclass #sg #may2017 #nationalgallerysingapore #welfie Dr Lily Neo: Come @clarenceeeee, sing with me! #lgclass #cityhall #singapore #saturdaynight #singaporean #nationalgallerysingapore "我。。。我要。。我要你。。我要你的。。我要你的爱。。你为什么不说出来?" Edward Ong Yu Xiang was so on, he sang a chinese oldie song with this female singer. Power. #cityhall #sg #singaporean #lgclass #nationalgallerysingapore #saturdaynight #singapore

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

