Alan Soh aka Humourboi

I am my own columnist, publishing my thoughts!

social initiative

Leave a comment

As most of you may know by now, I am hearing-challenged due to viral infection in my left ear, so I wear a hearing aid in it since 10 years ago; as well as an inborn dead right ear, of which I just had undergone a cochlear implant surgery on it in December 2011.

I am extremely thankful and grateful for the fact that I grew up through normal schooling in Singapore, as such I am able to communicate clearly with anyone whom I meet. Adversity has had toughened my character and helped me gain wisdom. Despite what I have gone through for the past 10 years or so, I choose to remain positive. I believe in positivity because I believe if I can, anything is possible.

For the past couple months, I’ve been thinking about this:

Are there hearing-impaired Singaporeans who feel that they are abandoned by the society? How can I help to ignite the fire in them to excel in life, making them look beyond their physical constraints? Are there avenues to help such Singaporeans to buy hearing aids? Are they aware about how they can go for cochlear implant devices if they really need such hearing devices? Do members of public understand their difficulties? How I can help to communicate the importance of hearing care to able-hearing Singaporeans? How can I help them to move up the social mobility ladder?

I’ve been doing some reading on these related topics.

For sure, I feel that the hearing-impaired are a part of our society. They are one of us. As a young Singaporean, I feel that we should be a caring and inclusive society, celebrating differences (or diversity) among us. Out of compassion, we should all the more help one another to pursue dreams, whatever it could be.

After the passing of CEO and founder of Apple Inc – Steve Jobs, and the cochlear implant surgery late last year, I feel a higher calling to be an advocate for the hearing-impaired communities in Singapore, no matter young or old, to cater to the needs and aspirations of this community segment by possibly starting a small-scale non-profit organisation or movement this year.

Life is short. Indeed, there is no such thing as a “perfect timing” before we can start something to help others in our society. So why not start now?

I already had something brewing in my mind.

Are you keen to join me? Do you want to help hearing-impaired young Singaporeans?
I am open to any wacky ideas or collaborations. =)

Author: alansoh79

https://alansoh79.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

