Cochlear Implant Surgery (Pt 5)

Leave a comment

April 13, 2012 by alansoh79

On the evening of Saturday 31st March 2012, I went attended a volunteers’ night event with 2 fellow youth group members, Raymond and Iskandar, at Senja-Cashew Community Club.

Honesty speaking, I would like to thank them because I did a surprising breakthrough – wore both my hearing devices — hearing aid and cochlear implant device publicly on our MRT train journey from Choa Chu Kang back to Yishun. Yes, honesty speaking I am also surprised. lol.

To you able-hearing readers, well, it may be nothing but to me, being someone who is self-conscious, it was a “daring” act. I focused on the two gentlemen and on the spot, broke through my pyschological barrier — just threw away self-suspecting thoughts of “after putting on my hearing devices, will people stare at me as if I am an alien?”.

Yup, life is too short for me to bother think about how others may perceive me.
Look, some people are unable to see clearly, so they wear spectacles. The same theory applies to hearing devices for hearing-impaired individuals as well. Humans are not perfect beings afterall. So since I need to wear the hearing devices in order to communicate effectively with the people around me, why must I be looked upon differently?

With my four limbs, I can move around on my own, and communicate fluently with others. Just like anyone of you. Yay! =)

I believe the issue boils down to ignorance, and negative perceptions about hearing-impaired people in Asian perspective, particularly among illiterate elderly folks. Such mindsets are to be changed.

By the way, I foresee that the coming generation of hard-of-hearing Singaporeans are possibly those 20-40 year-olds who have grown up with Walkmans, iPods, iPhones, iPads, MP3 players and insanely loud dubstep in nightspots these days. They will be increasingly hearing-impaired at earlier ages.

Is it time for me to start advocating the importance of hearing care now, than leaving it to commercial hearing aid service providers? Hmmmmm. That is food for thought for me. Hmmm..

I just went for one of those follow-up appointments, seeing my audiologist again at the ENT Clinic 1B @ Tan Tock Seng Hospital yesterday. So far so good. =)

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 23,770 hits

I am on Instagram!

I end my run here. 今晚我跑了6公里左右。#sgrun #sghealthy #mondaynight #may2017 #singaporean #sweat #lgclass #maintainyouth #chongpang #latenightjogging 上个星期六,我们五个人的"饮水"时间。#saturday #rafflescitysg #singapore #coffee #tea #toastboxsg Joined hands with 4 other volunteers to bring this group of 80+ NSE residents out for a walk at Gardens By The Bay yesterday (20 May). They also visited the Flower Dome. #yishun #neesooneast #may2017 #saturday #sg #gardensbythebay #singapore #lgclass We enjoyed being here tonight (20 May). #singapore #saturdaynight #lgclass #sg #may2017 #nationalgallerysingapore #welfie Dr Lily Neo: Come @clarenceeeee, sing with me! #lgclass #cityhall #singapore #saturdaynight #singaporean #nationalgallerysingapore "我。。。我要。。我要你。。我要你的。。我要你的爱。。你为什么不说出来?" Edward Ong Yu Xiang was so on, he sang a chinese oldie song with this female singer. Power. #cityhall #sg #singaporean #lgclass #nationalgallerysingapore #saturdaynight #singapore

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

