this is home

Leave a comment

February 16, 2011 by alansoh79

When I represented Singapore in an overseas youth exchange programme in 2007 in Seoul (Korea), and when this NDP 1998 song was played there, oh my god, it really tugged my heartstrings, for it has reminded me of my national identity. For a moment, I was homesick. I started to think about Singapore, which is thousands of miles away.

Personally, this is the song which reminds me the significance behind holding that pink identity card and the red Singapore passport. It makes home-coming so pleasurable whenever I come back from overseas, stepping onto home soil at Changi Airport. Especially when I am queuing for clearance at the immigration halls, at lanes dedicated for Singapore citizens with electronic signages that say “Welcome HOME”. Ahhhhhh.

The iconic song has been specially re-arranged for this year’s Total Defence campaign, sung by 39 homegrown voices including Kit Chan and backed by Singapore Symphony Orchestra. Kit Chan, of whom is the original singer, is the executive producer aka Creative Director for this project. Nice song with a new spin.

Singapore is my home. I am a Singaporean, wherever I may be. =)

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 23,770 hits

I am on Instagram!

I end my run here. 今晚我跑了6公里左右。#sgrun #sghealthy #mondaynight #may2017 #singaporean #sweat #lgclass #maintainyouth #chongpang #latenightjogging 上个星期六,我们五个人的"饮水"时间。#saturday #rafflescitysg #singapore #coffee #tea #toastboxsg Joined hands with 4 other volunteers to bring this group of 80+ NSE residents out for a walk at Gardens By The Bay yesterday (20 May). They also visited the Flower Dome. #yishun #neesooneast #may2017 #saturday #sg #gardensbythebay #singapore #lgclass We enjoyed being here tonight (20 May). #singapore #saturdaynight #lgclass #sg #may2017 #nationalgallerysingapore #welfie Dr Lily Neo: Come @clarenceeeee, sing with me! #lgclass #cityhall #singapore #saturdaynight #singaporean #nationalgallerysingapore "我。。。我要。。我要你。。我要你的。。我要你的爱。。你为什么不说出来?" Edward Ong Yu Xiang was so on, he sang a chinese oldie song with this female singer. Power. #cityhall #sg #singaporean #lgclass #nationalgallerysingapore #saturdaynight #singapore

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

